Children

Children, especially the strong-willed kind, can bring out the best and the worst in you. I know because I have two of them.

I ride the emotional roller coaster with them every day. Every second I make a decision to either hang on or let go. You can interpret that any way you’d like, and you would be right. If you’re a parent, you know exactly what I mean.

What I’ve found is that you have to do BOTH AT THE SAME TIME- HANG ON AND LET GO – which is why parenthood is such a CRAZY ride. Simply put, I have to hold onto my own sanity while letting go of the insanity coming from the children.

I have also found that rationality is a huge grey area. Deciphering what is sane and insane, what is rational and irrational is truly an art. I always assume, I suppose just like my kids, that I am the rational one, but many times my children point out or make me see that I am not. So I let myself go and join them in their seemingly crazy ride.

 

Leave a Reply

